Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Statute of Limitations question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Statute of Limitations question

I was blindsided last week with a letter from a collection agency regarding a debt I apparently had from the university I attended in North Carolina, from which I graduated almost nine years ago! In retrospect, I vaguely remember having some form of an outstanding balance at the time directly with the university. In other words, it was not regarding a student loan of any sort.

Since receiving the letter last week, this debt has not yet appeared on my credit report as being in collection. Assuming this debt is past the NC statute of limitationa as it appears it is from my research, I understand that they cannot sue me for the balance. However should I refuse to pay the credit agency or even respond to their letter with a dispute, will they or more importantly can they then report it to the credit bureaus as an unpaid debt in collection?

Having this not appear on my credit report is most importantly to me at this time and I'm not sure how to proceed. Any advice or insight would help.
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Jnbmom
Credit Mentor

Re: Statute of Limitations question

If it is in fact 9 years old, I am sure it is well past the SOL and it is certainly past the reporting time to be on your reports.

Did you read the letter carefully, normally if it's past the SOL, at the bottom of the letter it will state :

"the law limits how long you can be sued on a debt and how low it appears on reports. Due to the age of this debt, we will not sue or report payment or non payment to the credit bureau"

This is probably somewhere on your letter, seems like they are fishing a 'zombie debt"

EXP 780 EQ 791TU 795
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable