Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sunrise Credit Services possible violations

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sunrise Credit Services possible violations

Greetings,

This is my first post. I'm new to myFico community. Over the past few months the myFico identity theft thread has been a tremendous help.

As a recent victim of identity theft, I have started to scrutinize  phone calls that I receive and entries that pop up on my credit reports.

The other day I came across something pertaining to Sunrise Credit Service.  Looking back through my cell phone call log, I noticed that from 11/2019 to 1/30/20 I had received 23 calls from them. 2 calls were received before 8 am, which is a violation of TCPA Time of day restrictions.

Should I attempt to contact sunrise about this issue?

Thanks

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Sunrise Credit Services possible violations

And what are you hoping to achieve by this?

Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

possibly a lawsuit

Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

The merits/probable outcome of a lawsuit aside, why would you contact Sunrise then?  No one calls someone they wish to engage in litigation and says, "hey, just letting you know I'm going to sue you!"

Message 4 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

@RobertEG is a wealth of info on this topic. Hopefully he will be along to shed some light for you. 

Message 5 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

thanks for your reply

Message 6 of 11
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

I assume that you recognize them as a debt collector, and that they are likely calling regarding attempts to collect on a delinquent debt.  Do you currently have a delinquent debt that may be subject to collection attempts?

Have you ever spoken with them, and thus have an actual initital communication with the consumer, which then triggers their obligation to send a formal collection ("dunning") notice under FDCPA 809?