Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Taking out a loan to improve credit score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Taking out a loan to improve credit score

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. So I am 20 years old with a credit score ranging from 740-760 based on myFico, however, the "negative impact" all of the credit bureaus are giving me is the fact that I have no loans, and they suggest that I take out a loan to show that I can manage various types of credit.

Luckily, I am fortunate enough to not need loans due to family support/trust accounts, but to improve my credit score do you think it would be smart to take out a small loan (about $2,000) from The Lending Club, eventhough I don't need to purchase anything that I can't afford, and probably won't ever?

The only other negative would be AAoA, which surely will go up on its own.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Taking out a loan to improve credit score

There is no reason to do so at this point. Your scores are fine the way they are.

Message 2 of 13
Pway
Valued Contributor

I agree, no need to get an loan.  Your scores are fine.

Thank you for the wealth of knowledge I have learned from these forums. I am logging off as of November 9, 2022. I wish everyone great success.
Message 3 of 13
ddemari
Super Contributor

I agree with the other posters, you do not need to take out a loan from lending club or other sites. Your credit mix is a small part of your fico score,although it is small it is important but you are doing well with your scores. No need to burden yourself with a personal loan. Keep doing a good job and with time you will see your scores get even higher. 

Message 4 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable