Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips for a credit Newbie?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Tips for a credit Newbie?

Hi Guys! 

I've been lurking on this site for a few months now and I finally decided to sign up & join the conversation. Here's a little backstory: I'm in my late 20's but I didn't start paying attention to my credit until Decemeber of last year. I come from a family that didn't know much about credit and I was always taught that you if you didn't have the cash to buy something, you simply didn't need it. Fast forward to Spring of 2017,  I managed to pay off a few collections and dispute a few things which brought my score up 100+pts. I've been hovering at a 661 score for about 4 months and I'm interested in making this jump. This is what my "profile" looks like currently: 

-Comenity Ulta Credit Card ($150; First CC ever-- opened Nov 2016)

-Cap 1 Auto Loan ($15,000 ; 20 yr old Honda clunked out-- opened Feb 2017)

-Cap 1 Platinum Credit Card (SL- $300; increased to $500 yesterday-- opened May 2017)

-Amex Everday ($500; embarrassing-- Hit the luv button after 61 days, denied-- opened Aug 2017)

-Discover IT ($1,200-- Opened Nov 2017)

-Student Loan for two degrees ($50,000)

I'm happy with the cards I have now, I'm not really interested in applying for more. I think I have some decent ones to start with and its time to start gardening. I'm nervous about being stuck with low limits forever-- I've read about people having difficulty getting their cards to grow because they initally received them with such low starting limits. Any tips on avoiding this? 

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Tips for a credit Newbie?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi Guys!