Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total loss in small claims, even with Rosenthal and FDCPA violations

tag
pani

Total loss in small claims, even with Rosenthal and FDCPA violations

Hi,
Long time reader but I think this is my first time posting.

I just came from a small claims hearing in California where the OC sued me after charging off the account. Their paperwork had conflicting dates and past due amounts, they did not send me any kind of demand letter, and they revealed information about my debt to my employer during process of service. Despite all this, and despite requesting a continuance from the judge so that i might obtain legal advice to better understand my rights and make sure that i was not losing my rights, i lost the case and a judgement was entered against me. The judge did not care at all about any point i brought forward. I can now choose to face their attorneys on appeal or I can cut my losses and pay a debt that I don't understand or agree with. Or I can have my wages garnished. Any way it rolls, i am screwed.

I contacted 5 debt collection and bankruptcy attorneys about the Rosenthal/FDCPA violations and no one was willing to consider taking the case. They did not think that 6-8 calls a week was actionable, nor did they believe that the revealing of information about my debt to my employer was actionable, despite my loss of reputation and whatever other consequences I'll face at my job because of it.