Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Varying Credit Scores When Pulled by Lenders Vs. MyFICO scores

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Varying Credit Scores When Pulled by Lenders Vs. MyFICO scores

My husband and I have been plugging away at our debt for about the past six months. When we pull our credit on MyFICO, our scores are both in the mid-600s. We want to purchase a home three months from now, and when we contacted a mortgage broker, his scores for us were completely different than what we had. His reports had us in the high-500s. We need a minimum of a 620 in order to get approved. We got a second opinion from a broker in another state who had the same exact scores as the first. She mentioned that sometimes there will be a huge difference between what we have and what they have, as their scores can be 30 days or older, and therefore may not be as up to date as our own reports. I don't want to keep having them pull our credit waiting for it to update, as I know this can also hurt us. What do we do in this situation?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
AndySoCal
Valued Contributor

Re: Varying Credit Scores When Pulled by Lenders Vs. MyFICO scores

First the scores being 30 days or older is wrong. The difference is in the score model being used. YOur Equifax score form My Fico should be close depending on how far apart the two reports were pulled.  The Trans Uniion score will be different MY FICO uses TU FICO  98 socre your lender is pulling most likely TU  FICO 2004 score there some diffeences in the two models. I would see if you can get copy of the credit report from the lender and compare the two . Keep in mind the trade lines will be a composite of what all three bureaus reported.  Sound like there is some differences in  the credit data on the lenders report than the one you have.

FICO Scores XPN v8 802 V2 831 (SDFCU) TUC 803 v8 EFX 807 (10/2023)