Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wells Fargo Line of Credit: w/Home Projects Visa

tag
gamegrrl
Frequent Contributor

Wells Fargo Line of Credit: w/Home Projects Visa

I put a roof on this 100+ year old home of mine last year. My contractor was offering 0% interest through Wells Fargo as a line of credit with a Wells Fargo Home Projects Visa attached to it.

Of the whole total ($7,700), $1,500 is "on" the Home Projects Visa.

How should this be reporting on my credit reports? Is it a "revolving" account? I'm just not sure how "lines of credit" impact credit reports, or how they're interpreted from a FICO scoring standpoint. I'd love your insight.

It looks to me as though the payments I've been making for the past six months are lowering the 'balance' on the attached $1,500 Visa card, which I think was showing a balance of $200 on the last statement. Which is about right: Six payments of $213 would lower it by $1,284.

EX myFICO 850 - EQ myFICO 850 - TU myFICO 850
Goal Score: 800+ across the board! *DONE!!!*
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
gamegrrl
Frequent Contributor

Additional Info/clarification

I went into my credit reports and checked. This line of credit for the roof is showing up on all three reports as a credit card! That doesn't seem correct to me, as the 'card' portion of this account itself has a $1,500 limit.

Message 2 of 8
gamegrrl
Frequent Contributor

Re: Additional Info/clarification

*bump*

Anyone?

Message 3 of 8
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Wells Fargo Line of Credit: w/Home Projects Visa

I can't speak as to how it should report, but if this is a line of credit, then it is scored just like a credit card. So, if it is considered a revolving, LOC or HELOC, the impact is the same in your example.