cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will a paid tax lien be negative on credit report?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will a paid tax lien be negative on credit report?

Hello,

This is my first time posting here.  I'm getting ready to send in a payment agreement for some state income taxes that I owe.  It's an agreement to pay so much per month and they take it straight out of your checking account.  It says on the form that they will file a state tax lien to protect the state's interest, but that they will release the lien after the debt is paid.  I'm not sure how I feel about this.  How badly will this affect our credit scores?  My husband's score is in the mid 700s and mine is around 700.

It would be very difficult to pay this all of at once (maybe impossible), but I don't want to impact our credit score since we are interested in refinancing our house soon.  Will it only be considered a negative while unpaid, or will it still be negative once paid?

I was told that they don't report it to the CUs, rather that they pick it up on their own since it will be a public record.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Will a paid tax lien be negative on credit report?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello,

This is my first time posting here.  I'm getting ready to send in a payment agreement for some state income taxes that I owe.  It's an agreement to pay so much per month and they take it straight out of your checking account.  It says on the form that they will file a state tax lien to protect the state's interest, but that they will release the lien after the debt is paid.  I'm not sure how I feel about this.  How badly will this affect our credit scores?  My husband's score is in the mid 700s and mine is around 700.