cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

if I only have one credit card, willing getting another raise my score?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

if I only have one credit card, willing getting another raise my score?

So this is the first time I've checked my score. I've had one credit card for two years and paid it off in full every month. This is my only credit. My Equifax score is 764.

My question- on the advice section it said only having one credit account was hurting me. Does that mean it would help my score to open a new one? If so, does it have to be a credit card or can it be a loan of some sort?

Also, are the other scores (Transunion and Experian) going to be really different from this one or all they all about the same? I'm new to all this...

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: if I only have one credit card, willing getting another raise my score?

If that score came from myFICO, then quite impressive for only having one item on your CR. And yes, I think you'd benefit by adding a second.

Message 2 of 9
namvet
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

So this is the first time I've checked my score. I've had one credit card for two years and paid it off in full every month. This is my only credit. My Equifax score is 764.

My question- on the advice section it said only having one credit account was hurting me. Does that mean it would help my score to open a new one? If so, does it have to be a credit card or can it be a loan of some sort?

Also, are the other scores (Transunion and Experian) going to be really different from this one or all they all about the same? I'm new to all this...

Adding another credit card will cause a drop in your score for 3-6 months IMO.  So you got a 764 EQ score with 1 credit card?  You must have other credit showing up on your report.  If not, you must know something we don't know!  I would get at least one more credit card for a higher score in the future.

Message 3 of 9