cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1.73% difference between rate & APR - is that a rip off?

tag
rross
New Contributor

1.73% difference between rate & APR - is that a rip off?

Here's the offer:
$150,000 loan
4.75% interest rate
6.482% APR

He said the seller would pay up to $3000 for closing costs, and I would put about $6000 down.  (This would be an FHA loan, so the 3.5% requried down payment would be pretty much that $6000, so I don't believe I'm paying any points)

Does this seem to be an awfully big difference between the rate & APR, or is it just because I'm new to all of this?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 1.73% difference between rate & APR - is that a rip off?

That APR probably includes mortage insurance for an FHA loan, which is 1.15% right now (might be higher? for lower scores).   MPI really adds to the cost of the loan.

Add in the closing costs (which are figured into calculating the APR even if the seller pays them), and I'm not too surprised that you're up to 6.482%

Message 2 of 7
203bravo
Established Contributor

Seems right --- I got a par quote today.. 4.25 with final with MIP being 5.54%.

Message 3 of 7
JM-AM
Valued Contributor

@rross wrote:

Here's the offer:
$150,000 loan
4.75% interest rate
6.482% APR

He said the seller would pay up to $3000 for closing costs, and I would put about $6000 down.  (This would be an FHA loan, so the 3.5% requried down payment would be pretty much that $6000, so I don't believe I'm paying any points)

Does this seem to be an awfully big difference between the rate & APR, or is it just because I'm new to all of this?

Thinking 3.5% down on $150K  is about $5250, so what is reason for the other $750 towards down payment? Points? Additional money for closing fees? 

Not really much to worry about with APR, have your LO explain it to you. The number you are concerned with is the interest rate.

Good Luck
May all your dreams and wishes become a reality!