Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2 Weeks from Close, Contract Job Ending

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

2 Weeks from Close, Contract Job Ending

So we're 2 weeks from closing on 6/24, and my contract job is ending. I am a freelancer/self-employed in social media strategy, and over the past 2+ years have had in office contract work and personal clients, so a mix of stuff. The last 9 months ive been on a 40 hour a week contract. It was only meant to be 6 months, but kept getting extended due to the client needing me longer than expected (im working at a creative agency that has clients, not in-house with client). Extensions were last minute, month by month. Although I was told i was supposed to be extended to 6/30, there's no official paperwork in and so the agency cannot legally keep me past Friday unless the client signs.

Anyway, our LO does know my job situation and they asked for the past 2 years tax returns and any w-2s/1099s to average my income. My husband on the other hand, makes about double what i make full time and has a very stable job. He asked the LO last month if we should worry if my contract should suddenly end. She said "we understand she's self-employed and there are gaps in work at times." He said she didn't seem that concerned. Of course, it looks like a gap is coming RIGHT AT THE FINISH LINE.