Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AGI for mortgage?

tag
jzsnow
Frequent Contributor

AGI for mortgage?

Do lenders use your AGI or just gross income to determine dti and affordability?
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
JM-AM
Valued Contributor

Re: AGI for mortgage?

It depends on a few different things...

Self Employed ... averaged over last few years

W2 employed generally is gross unless a big (determined by lender) difference from one year to the next in pay.

Good Luck
May all your dreams and wishes become a reality!
Message 2 of 6
Vwaller72
Valued Member

I'm no expert but I don't think there's any case where they use your AGI. That's something that really only matters for tax purposes as AGI is the portion of your income that is actually taxable. I don't think that has any effect at all on the mortgage process.
Current scores EX: 678 (lender pull), MyFICO TU: 696 & EQ: 664
Message 3 of 6
jzsnow
Frequent Contributor

We have both. Normal w-2 employee and run a small business on the side. We only make maybe 1-2k a year on the business. It's just for a little extra spending money and to keep the practice up. My husband tunes pianos.

I just wast sure how a lender would see our income.
Message 4 of 6
JM-AM
Valued Contributor

@Vwaller72 wrote:
I'm no expert but I don't think there's any case where they use your AGI. That's something that really only matters for tax purposes as AGI is the portion of your income that is actually taxable. I don't think that has any effect at all on the mortgage process.

Technically they do not.

But be self employed, and take advantage of all the tax advantages and show a small income, and see how the UW looks at it then. You ultimately should still be approved, but approval amount will be a factor.

Good Luck
May all your dreams and wishes become a reality!
Message 5 of 6
Vwaller72
Valued Member