Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on a collection while getting a mortgage

tag
jzsnow
Frequent Contributor

Advice on a collection while getting a mortgage

Portfolio recovery was on my credit report. I offered a pfd, but they didn't take it. I disputed it with EX 3 weeks ago for having the wrong DOFD and they deleted on all 3 credit agencies!

The problem you ask? We are in the mortgage process and I can't have these popping back up again. How can I make sure they stay off the report? It falls off in April anyways. Should I call and pay it while its off my report to keep it from coming back?
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
swtneka
Frequent Contributor

Re: Advice on a collection while getting a mortgage

From my understanding that if you send a dv to the CA they can't do anything for 30 days.... I'd let that be my first step. I am no expert but that's the info I learned on rebuild my credit. Go over there n ask this question if u want an detail answer

Message 2 of 7
cocomadd
Regular Contributor

If you find an answer to this please let me know.  I am in the same boat.

Exp/647-Fako
EQ/629-Fico
Trans/656-Fako
NEW SCORES
EX/665
EQ/642
Trans/656 Fako

This is new to me but I will take the 750+ challenge! Goal by May 2014
Message 3 of 7
tammyjk
Regular Contributor