Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Appraisal Contingency

tag
dursty87
Established Contributor

Appraisal Contingency

Is an appraisal contingency a bad thing?  From what I have seen/read it is a good thing or am I completely mistaken?

I have been looking for a house for a few weeks now and made my very first offer!  I talked to my RE agent about the appraisal contingency and he tried talking me out of it.  I made it clear that I am not worried about  say $5k but I am worried about $10k+.  The property in question had multiple offers so I submitted my offer $5 over list and had the contingency in place for $1k below list.  So I am willing to come out of pocket with an extra $6k because I absolutely love the house but anymore than that would be a deal killer.  Is this not a smart move on my part?  Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.  This is my first time buying so I am not sure if I am going about it the right way.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Appraisal Contingency

Maybe someone smarter than I as a buyer could see it; however, I'd never give up my ability to walk away if the appraisal came low and I couldn't make the difference out of my financial reserves and the seller refused to negotiate the price.

At a minimum earnest money, smoked.  I don't know the full legal ramifications though I expect that'd be about it if the borrower couldn't make the loan work in that scenario.

This is such a standard contingency I can't see ever waiving it.

        
Message 2 of 26
dursty87
Established Contributor

@Revelate wrote:

Maybe someone smarter than I as a buyer could see it; however, I'd never give up my ability to walk away if the appraisal came low and I couldn't make the difference out of my financial reserves and the seller refused to negotiate the price.