cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Appraised Value > Purchase Price, Affect Mortgage?

tag
MickeyGMoney
Regular Contributor

Appraised Value > Purchase Price, Affect Mortgage?

Hello everyone, I'm looking for some advice since I'm new to mortgages. We signed the contract for a new construction home (which will be our first home) back in April 2021. With all the delays, they just started construction last week and estimate it will take 6 months. Now, when we signed, we locked in the purchase price. The home and surrounding homes seem to be valued much higher now (something like 14%+). When we close, we will basically receive a nice chunk of equity right away (aside from whatever down payment - 0% or 5% - that we choose).

I'm trying to think of how we can take advantage of that equity.
One scenario I'm thinking of is that if we use Navy FCU, we could do their 0% down and get something like ~4.75% (or whatever the rate is in 5 months) with the plan to refinance very quickly after to get their ~3.375% rate (on up to 95% LTV) as if that free equity was actually like a 5% downpayment. The only issue here would be paying whatever refinance closing costs for a second loan (which are much lower than all the fees associated with a purchase, right?). With Navy, PMI isn't a cosideration since they don't require it.

Another is that we could use the preferred lender (if the rate + $4,000 closing cost credit ends up better). Here the consideration would be to refinance as soon as the LTV is low enough to remove PMI. I think it has to be 75% to remove PMI after 2 years, but only 80% to remove after 5+.