Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying home an hour away in a different state

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Buying home an hour away in a different state

Hi,

I currently live in New Mexico, but want to buy a home in El Paso, TX which is about an hour away. I am self employed, so the move wouldn't effect my work. I am also a student, so will just commute back to New Mexico for school.

My questions - Will buying a home an hour away in a different state affect my ability to purchase a home through Fannie Mae Conventional?

If not, should I use a lender in El Paso, TX or find one near me in New Mexico?Thank you for any advice.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Buying home an hour away in a different state

Anyone? Someone who made their first home purchase in another state?

Message 2 of 7
Jess21
Frequent Contributor

It shouldnt be a problem, we are trying to buy about an hour away too, although in the same state.  It hasnt been an issue

Equifax: 676 (myfico) Experian: 683(myfico) TransUnion: 689 (Barclays)

Current Goal: 700
Message 3 of 7
edcampbell613
Contributor

no issue, you got an easy explanation.

Message 4 of 7
Legal_Girl
Frequent Contributor

Go with a realtor in the city you are looking to move to.  They will know the area better and have quick access to ride by the property if you need a specific question answered.

Good luck with your home purchase. 

Homeowner Again as of July 17, 2014. Thanks to the VA and NFCU. FICOs EQ - 786/EX - 782/TU - 778/Quicksilver $3,500 / Cred 1 $2,875 / 1st Natl $4,250/ Kohls Visa $5k / Mercury MC $5,850 / NFCU Visa Sig Cash Rew $27k/ Lowes $25k / Best Buy Visa $11k/ NFCU LOC $15k / Walmart MC $7.5k / Chase Freedom Unlimited $1,500 / Discover IT $27,000 / Discover IT Chrome $21,500 / Citi DC $7,300 / AMEX Blue Cash Preferred $17,500 / Citi Simplicity $18,500 / Citi Premier $8,200 / Care Credit $10k/ AMEX Gold - NSL / Chase Sapphire Preferred $20,500
Message 5 of 7
Lemmus