Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get COE for VA Loan?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can't get COE for VA Loan?

Hi everyone, I am a longtime lurker of this forum and finally have a question to ask. I am an Army Veteran from almost 40 years ago. I served active duty from 1987-1988 and was honorably discharged from the military due to being pregnant with my first child. I am currently in the process of trying to obtain a VA loan and I'm not sure if I am eligibile or not. My lender seems to think I am but I am having trouble getting a COE. She tried to get the COE and was told that I served in the army reserves for 6 years and that I need to provide a points summary. The problem is that I didn't! I was discharged because of my pregnancy and was not required to report to the reserves because of this. Since it was so long ago I'm not sure if I'm not sure what documents I should be looking for. All I have is my DD214, nothing else. Do I not qualify off of my active duty term? Someone please help. 

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Can't get COE for VA Loan?

Hi,

My name is Chris and I think I have an answer that could help you out. If you sign up for E Benefits you can get your COE printed out yourself at home! www.ebenefits.va.gov/ebenefits/homepage

Go there and get started and you should be able to print out your own COE. I did it and actually called a number on the page becasue of an error on it that the person corrected right away. I was able to print out the corrected COE out right away! I hope this helps as I am holding on to mine so I can get a home loan we so very much worked for! God Bless! I pray this works for you. 

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable