cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Car Loan or Home Loan First??? Please help.

tag
glamchick
Established Contributor

Car Loan or Home Loan First??? Please help.

I have been working on cleaning up my credit... thanks to MYFICO boards I have made it to the 600's.

I wanted to buy a house within the next 6 months.  But unfortunately our 2nd car is done...motor is gone.  So I am looking to finance another car used under 15,000.  We are car pulling now which is fine but its hard sometimes. Plus if this car breaks down neither of us have a way to work and thats not a good thing Smiley Sad

So my question is should I wait to buy a car until we get a house?  Will this lessen my chances of getting a house since I will have a car payment? 

Thanks for you help Smiley Happy Smiley Happy
Gardening since 5/3/2016
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
treschic
Frequent Contributor

Re: Car Loan or Home Loan First??? Please help.

i have no personal experience in this, however i am in the same position.  i am in the process of cleaning up my cr, with hopes of getting a house sometime this year (hopefully), but my cars is systematically shutting down as well, every month is a new issue and it has already been in the shop 3 times in the last 4 months, and being that it already has 115,000 miles, i don't expect it to last much longer without major repairs such as a new motor, engine, alternator.  anyways, i've been told by everyone that you should get the house first, then the car.  i think mainly because the mortgage (at least in today's economy, not like previouslly), is harder to get than an auto loan.  i think they generally don't want you to open any new tl within 6 months of applying for a mortgage.  there is probably a better reason.  but, you do need transportation to get back and forth to work, because if you can't get to work, you don't get a check, and therefore, you definently won't qualify for a mortgage without a job.  so, i guess you have to gauge