Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Closing Thursday - FHA Back to Work

tag
songsofexperience
Frequent Contributor

Closing Thursday - FHA Back to Work

Some of you will remember my story from over the summer and I'm here to post the conclusion (or near conclusion I guess).

I'm using the Back to Work Program because I had a foreclosure in 2012. I stopped paying the mortgage in April 2010, but the foreclosure wasn't finalized until May of 2012. I lost my job and was out of work for 18 months, burned through my savings before I stopped paying yada yada yada.

Fast forward to Summer 2014 - I'd been living with my dad, who has Alzheimers, since February of 2012 but knew I was soon going to need to place him in a nursing home. I had no desire to live in his home after he left so I started learning about my options after the FC. I spent several months cleaning up my CR as best I could - I paid a judgment, settled another, paid down all my cards and so on. February 2013 my EQ score was 535. By August 2014 it was 654.

On July 16 I completed the Back to Work Counseling and then waited the requisite 30 days before applying for pre-approval. After a false start with a national lender, I found a local lender who would work with me. Right from the start I sent her documentation of my loss of income leading up to the FC and letters of explanation for everything bad on my credit report - everything stemmed from the job loss and 18 months of unemployment. I sent tax returns showing my income in 2008, 2009, the drop in 2010-2012 as well as my unemployment statements. I sent all the usual requirements for pre-approval (paystubs, bank statements etc).