cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Score dropped 40 points in one day!?!?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Score dropped 40 points in one day!?!?

I’m very pissed to say the least… How the heck does FICO score work? I’ve been repairing my score for the past two years raising it from low 500s to 760+… and I’ve maintained a 750+ for over six months… A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I put in an offer for a home…So far so good… last night I got an email from myFICO saying there was a change to my account…

This morning when I checked my account.. my score dropped 40 points!!! How the heck is that possible… Everything’s paid on time.. I even pulled my report to make sure it wasn’t identity theft… and I didn’t find anything out of the ordinary… so I’m confused… My accounts show a 10% overall UTIL… no late payment… last inquiry was last year in August (pulled by Wells Fargo for prequalification)…

I don’t know what to do now… who I should contact.. I really don’t want this to affect the offer my wife and I put in a couple of weeks back.. this is just frustrating.. I’m afraid the bank is going to look at the score and deny our loan… why am I to do now?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
fot1
Established Contributor

Re: Credit Score dropped 40 points in one day!?!?

What was the reason on the report?

Too many to list..
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Checking the history tab...  the change was caused by

• You have too many credit cards carrying balances.
    • You've made heavy use of your available revolving credit

All the cards used (AMEX, Discover and Capital One) carried a balance of $10-$50 balance just to keep it it active... and all of them have been paid off.. The only card that I use often carry a 30% util.. which I pay off in full every time the statement comes..