cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FHA Loan Question - was 1099, now W2 with same company; also 4506-t question...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

FHA Loan Question - was 1099, now W2 with same company; also 4506-t question...

Last year, I worked as a consultant for a company, and was paid by a sub-contractor (1099).  On January 1, I switched to a W-2 employee with the same company where I was a consultant.

I've just been pre-approved for an FHA loan.  I indicated to the lender that I've been with the company since April of last year (which is when I started as a consultant).  They asked if I am a W2 employee, and I said "yes".

I'm wondering if the fact that I was 1099 for 9 months of last year is going to impact my ability to get an FHA loan?

Prior to starting with this company, I was a W2 employee for 6 years at another company.  I'm doing the same line of work now as I was doing as a consultant, and as I was doing prior to joining this company.

On an unrelated note - I haven't submitted my taxes for 2008.  I have filed an extension.  Will this impact my ability to get an FHA loan?  Will the 4506-t show that I filed an extension?

Thank you for your assistance.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: FHA Loan Question - was 1099, now W2 with same company; also 4506-t question...

I think that because all of your work history has been in the same line of work and your consultant gig turned into a permanent W2 position, you will likely be fine.  Just tell them that you started as 1099 and then went to W2 employee. No biggie.

As for the tax records, not sure what they will show. I'd assume system will just come back showing no available tax return info. for 2008 as of yet. 

P.S.

Where you from in Chicago?

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: FHA Loan Question - was 1099, now W2 with same company; also 4506-t question...