Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FHA Newbie, Cash/Debts questions

tag
mizvalentine
Established Member

FHA Newbie, Cash/Debts questions

Hi everybody! I am just starting the mortgage preapproval path and need some advice.

I want an FHA 203(b) loan, due to the low downpayment required.  I have a good income for our area ($63k salary + about $5k/year freelance) and have been employed steadily my entire life, though I am new at my job (a couple months).  I am trying to qualify for $250k mortgage on a multifamily (I will occupy one unit); our area is great for rentals, so I could cover almost the entire mortgage with rent (but wouldn't need to, in a worst case scenario).  My credit scores are 696 TU and 755 EQ (real FICO). I have a $6k car loan and about $25k in student loan debt, no other debts except the usual cell/cable/internet (do they count these?). I'm about to pay off my cc debt completely.

Is there anything I can do to improve my chances of getting this loan?

Also: I'm unmarried but several family members want to help with the purchase via gifts (I have no real savings).  My parents are willing to put up the 3.5% and closing costs and provide documentation of the gift.  However, another family member only wants to give me cash and doesn't want to provide documentation. Is it okay if that family member pays off my car loan directly, instead of giving me cash that I can't provide a paper trail on? Or should I just have them wait til after the closing to make the gift? I thought eliminating the car loan might improve my DTI ratio (I'm a little over the 28% guideline now) but I'm afraid it will look weird or count as a gift.

Also, I have 2 baddies that are due to age off my CR in Sept.  I'll also be paying off my CCs this month as I mentioned, but that won't show up on my CR til the cards report on Sept 19. Should I wait til the end of Sept to apply for a loan to get the bump on my FICO, or does it matter?