Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FHA or Conventional?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

FHA or Conventional?

I am new to this but i was curious about what is the main differences about these two mortgages?
Other the different requirements and score needed. what is the thing that makes you prefer one or the other if you have a choice to get either one? Thank you.
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Trudy
Valued Contributor

Re: FHA or Conventional?

Credit Score, down payment and PMI requirements are a few things.  Here's a pretty good article comparing.

https://www.nerdwallet.com/article/mortgages/fha-loan-vs-conventional-mortgage

edit: I see I didn't read your post fully.  For me, not needing to have PMI for my conventional loan is important to me.

FICO - 8: 05/05/23
Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes i would not want to pay that pmi either. But lets you give a 20% down payment on a FHA do you still have to pay pmi? I thought once you give that 20% fha or conventional you dont have pmi anymore?
Message 3 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Btw thank you for that nice link.
Message 4 of 12
coreyb80
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
Yes i would not want to pay that pmi either. But lets you give a 20% down payment on a FHA do you still have to pay pmi? I thought once you give that 20% fha or conventional you dont have pmi anymore?

PMI remains on FHA loan for the life of it while PMI falls off a conventional loan after 20% LTV is achieved.   Someone correct me if I'm wrong please.

Message 5 of 12
Trudy
Valued Contributor

@coreyb80 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

PMI remains on FHA loan for the life of it while PMI falls off a conventional loan after 20% LTV is achieved.   Someone correct me if I'm wrong please.

You are correct.  PMI will last the life of the FHA loan.  However, if re-fi'd into a convential then it can be removed with the LTV requirement met. 

FICO - 8: 05/05/23
Message 6 of 12
VALoanMaster
Valued Contributor