Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time home buyer - mortgage credit info

tag
Bell536
Contributor

First time home buyer - mortgage credit info

It's my first time putting an offer on a home.  Question regarding  when mortgage lenders look at my credit report -

1.  Must the credit report be entirely free of  lates, collections and closed accounts?

2.  If I have lates, what time frame is bad? (My report is fine for the past year or two but have some lates in 2011 and  early 2012.  If I try to GW and remove them will that be best or ok to ignore?

3.  Collection accounts - i have a couple small ones for  a little over $100 (verizon/midland and gas company that i never got a bill from).  Are these a HUGE no no?

(I'm working on paying them and asking them to correct the account, but should I ask them to delete or is it ok for it to show paid collection?)

Just trying to generally get an idea if lenders do not approve anyone with any type of collection whether closed, paid, open or balance, etc.

And if lates older than the past year or two are really bad and must be removed.

Thanks!  Sorry if I am too wordy or not clear.  Thank you guys!

Clean up CR for home purchase.Started on 04/16/2013.
04/16/13 EQ 536,TU 537,EXP 552 Lender pull
04/30/13 EQ 602 MYFico.com 05/12/13 EQ 614 / TU 595 MYFico.com
05/18/13 EQ 625 MYFico.com,614TU 5/28 EQ 625 Mid Score 621 TU
05/31/13 EQ 663 MyFico!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Sunshine85
Frequent Contributor

Re: First time home buyer - mortgage credit info

@Bell536 wrote:

It's my first time putting an offer on a home.  Question regarding  when mortgage lenders look at my credit report -

1.  Must the credit report be entirely free of  lates, collections and closed accounts?