Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help us settle our debate tax returns w/mortgage app

tag
redE2move
Frequent Contributor

Help us settle our debate tax returns w/mortgage app

So let me start by saying I am no expert on the subject but am only stating what seems to make sense to me.

Me:  When applying for a mortgage the LO will ask for 2 yrs of tax returns but will need to know OR will find out about payments you make on previous years returns because these payments will show as debits on your bank statements.  So, they'll find out out anyway and these payments need to be included to calculate your DTI.

Know it all cousin:  Well, I've been a homeowner for over 10 years now and no they only need 2 years of tax returns, 2 months of bank statements and if you're that dumb that you would provide them bank statements from that account you don't deserve to buy a home.

Me:  Really Smiley Mad  such a jerk!  Wait but didn't you buy this home during the 2008 crisis?  Back then it was "Anything goes" right. Smiley Wink

11 REPLIES 11
iv
Valued Contributor

Re: Help us settle our debate tax returns w/mortgage app

If I understand your question correctly, you are currently paying prior-year debt to the IRS via a payment plan?

Yes, you are required to disclose that as part of the mortgage application process, along with ANY OTHER debt/liabilities, regardless of what bank account you happen to be paying it from.

Failure to do so is mortgage fraud.

EQ8:850 TU8:850 EX8:850
EQ9:847 TU9:847 EX9:839
EQ5:797 TU4:807 EX2:813 - 2021-06-06
Message 2 of 12
redE2move
Frequent Contributor