cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High student loan debt and low income....Is a mortgage possible???

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

High student loan debt and low income....Is a mortgage possible???

Hello:

I just finished up grad school, but with some significant student loan debt >$100,000 between undergrad and grad school. I also started a new job tha pays very little, <$35,000 a year (non profit job).  I have been renting a condo for the past 3 years and my landlord offered to sell me the place.  Mind you, we are just in the talking stages as he is not sure what the place is valued and said that if I decided not to renew at the end of the year he would short sell it to the bank.  Anyhow, after some research on similar condos for sale in my neighborhood, comparing the unit to the others, I would guess this unit would value around $150k. Anyhow, I wanted to know my chances of getting a mortgage with the high student loan and low income. The loan is my only debt, I do carry credit cards, but pay the balance in full every month. I do have a car, but I paid the loan off early last year.  My student loan is on the PAYE IBR at $80/month.  I am reading many loans don't use IBR monthly payments in the DTI calculation, but rather use 1% of total loan for the calculation.  If that were the case my DTI would be really high, which is what worries me other than the low income. Would I have any chances for a loan?  Oh I should note, my fico 8 scores range between 730-750 between the CB's, not sure if that is useful information. And for downpayment, I have $10k and could possibly ask my parents for help with down payment.  Thanks for any insight/advice.  

**I should also add, I have a clean report, no baddies and no lates. 

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: High student loan debt and low income....Is a mortgage possible???