cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much will Mortgage FICO go up based on improving credit utilization?

tag
heylodeb

How much will Mortgage FICO go up based on improving credit utilization?

Hi, everyone, 

I have been lucky enough to be offered to purchase a friend's home that is directly in my budget and a dream location for me....but due to some past credit issues, I have some concerns about how my score will move. I am applying for a physicians loan with a requirement for a FICO 700 (0% down, 0 PMI). Lender has said I should be approved based on DTI, etc as long as score gets above 700. 

1: October 2019 - Delinquent on school loan payments. I am a veterinarian and have 15 school loans that all show as having been late - tanked my score from upper 700s to the lower 600s

2: Credit Debt: Each card was at about 50-90% of credit utilization until the last couple months when I picked up a second job. I will be decreasing my credit utilization to below 30% for every card in this 30 day period. ($17,000+ in credit card debt has been decreased to around 8,000 in 60 days). I am waiting for this to all be reported to see what my scores will do....

3:Car loans: 50% paid off

4: Loan: $3,000 installment loan that I took out 1 month ago (duh...didn't know I would be getting to purchase his house)

Current FICO 8: 686, 700, 707

Current FICO 2, 4, 5: 681, 681, 660

$8,000 in savings currently, will have closer to 10-12k by closing in September which is our ideal plan. 

Friend is willing to wait a couple months to close but isn't willing to wait an excessive amount of time. (understandably!) 

Is there any hope that my FICO 2, 4, 5 will be above 700, in the next 30 days, when all of these credit payments go through to less than 30% utilization?

8 REPLIES 8
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: How much will Mortgage FICO go up based on improving credit utilization?

@heylodeb wrote:

Hi, everyone,