Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I think I'm really going to apply now

tag
JGWantsAHouse
Regular Contributor

I think I'm really going to apply now

Equifax:653, Transunion:642, Experian:?

I've been postponing applying for a mortgage loan for many months. I've saved some money, the rates are low, my scores aren't really budging so I figure I should just go ahead and apply.

My plan is to go to open a savings account at the credit union that offers the downpayment assistance program that I want to participate in, while I'm there I will ask the loan officer a few questions.

In mean time I'm paying off a collection that I've sent many PFDs with no success.  The last response I received from them was that they are willing to update my account to "paid in full" . It sucks, but since the collection was opened 01/2010 I believe that I should pay it before I apply. The collection is only reported on Transunion, I do not have any other collections reported to other bureaus.

I plan to apply around the beginning of November.

If anyone has any advice before I take the plunge, please advise. I'm particularly interested in any reactions to me paying off a collection without a pfd, and any questions I shoulld ask the loan officer.

Closed on my first home April 2012

Starting Score: 559 11/2010
Current Score: 600 Equifax, 681 Transunion, 663 Experian(Lender)
Goal Score: 660+

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
IOBA
Senior Contributor

Re: I think I'm really going to apply now

1.  Pay off the collection asap!

2.  Be aware that when you open the new account up, they will pull credit.  Ask if that credit report can also be used for a mortgage application.

3.  Go for it!

Message 2 of 12
incognitony
Frequent Contributor

Some say don't pay off collections unless the loan people ask you to because it could hurt your score or they don't require it.  All the LO's we dealt with wanted the non-medical collections paid before closing.

Message 3 of 12