Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If I applied for a mortgage today......

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

If I applied for a mortgage today......

I posted my dilemma with my husband's credit scores and possibly not being able to use him on our mortgage loan a few weeks ago. However, I want to know if I applied on my own today would I be able to qualify based on my income alone and if so for how much?

I currently make $45,000 a year and I am a teacher (if that helps any). My FICO scores are 776, 782, and 782. I have a cc payment of $350 a month and a student loan payment of $150. I currently have $15,000 saved. I have never been late on a payment ever in life. I know my DTI is high, but I always pay on time and above the minimum. What would my chances be on my own? Also what type of interest rate do you think I would qualify for?     

Thanks
Patricia
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: If I applied for a mortgage today......

I was in the same boat as you.  Was able to purchase home on my own and because of being a homestead state, he was still on title.  Scores were not as high as yours though.  Right around 664 and the mortgage company only used my Transunion score which was pretty clean.
Wait to see what some of the experts here have to say.  The advice is usually right on point.  Just wanted you to know it worked for me.
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

You might check and see if your city or state has special programs for teachers.

I know that both Chicago and Illinois have them as well as other cities and states.

They offer special rates and sometimes outright grants to teachers.

Kevin
Message 3 of 10
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Hi Patricia, what is the range of home prices you'd be looking at?  That will determine if you have a shot or not... Fannie Mae loan programs can approve debt ratios up to 64.99%... which means $1,937.12 is the most you housing payment could be and still qualify.