Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Impact of Student Loans on Mortgage

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Impact of Student Loans on Mortgage

I am hoping to get a pre-qualification for a mortgage in the next month or two but am concerned about a few things holding me back, one of them being my student loans. I graduated 6 years ago, so my loans are 6-10 years old and total about $45k.  They went into last summer and I completed the rehabilitation in May and they are now with a new servicer, but I still have a high utilization on them.  Now that they are with the new servicer, all of the interest that had accrued has now become principal, which leads me to my first question:  will my loans appear to be at 100% utilization because of this or will it be greater and the original loan amounts will still show along with an updated balance.  I will have the answer in a few weeks when my new servicer reports, but if anyone knows, I would like to know what to prepare myself for.  Will any of this have an impact on my chances of an approval?  So far two of the bureaus have deleted the old tradelines (hoping the new ones show up clean) which makes my reports look a lot better and my scores have improved.  I'm also waiting for a vacated judgement to come off of one last bureau.  Once all of that happens I will pay for my mortgage scores, but I know that the score isn't the only thing they look at.  I am working in a new field for the last ten months which may work against me as well and another potential hurdle is my pay is base + bonus with my bonus each month being close to 75% of my base pay.  On the bright side, I have a large amount of cash to put down (could actually just pay cash).  I've been in the same apartment for the last six years and feel like the walls are starting to close in on me, but rent in a bigger apartment would be more expensive than a mortgage, so I think it makes sense for me to buy.  I'm just feeling anxious to move on and get a fre