Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Job Change

tag
L3K
Established Member

Job Change

Greetings all!

I’m working towards applying for a mortgage loan late next year. I have been a nurse for 10 years; 2 years at my current job. I plan to drop down to part time at my current job and start working as a full time nursing professor starting this fall. My salary will be similar. Will a lender have a problem with this and require me to wait until I have been working at the university for 2 years? I’d need to use both incomes to qualify for the price point that I’m hoping for.

Thanks!
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
zerofire
Valued Contributor

Re: Job Change

That is a question for your lender. Most lenders only count your income in total and your oldest job as to age. However the issue with two jobs is it gets rather messy and if you need clarification you will need to ask the lender of choice yourself.

TU:837 09/19/23 Bank of America--EX: 841 09/20/23 Experian--EQ:832 09/21/23 myFICO--Gardening since N/A
Active:
Bank of America (Unlimited Cash Rewards WMC, Customized Cash Rewards WMC, Customized Cash Rewards VSC), Capital One Walmart WMC, Chase(Amazon Prime VSC, Freedom Flex WEMC [x2], Freedom Unlimited VC), Citi Dividend MC, Citizens GreenSense MC, Curve WEMC, Discover It C, FNBO Ducks Unlimited VSC, PenFed (Platinum Rewards VSC, Pathfinder Rewards VSC), Synchrony Bank PayPal Cashback MC, UMB Bank Simply Rewards VC[Milford Federal], US Bank (Altitude Go VSC, Cash+ VSC [x2], Pick n Save/Metro Market WEMC)
Wishlist: AAA Daily Advantage Visa, AOD Signature, Bellco Colorado Rewards, Citi Custom Cash, EBates, Nusenda Platinum Cash Rewards, Ollo Optimum, Redstone Signature, Security Service Power Travel Rewards, Vantage West Connect Rewards
Message 2 of 11
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Shouldn't be an issue, changing jobs is seriously common in the current market and it's easy to argue same field.