Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lenders that will use actual student loan payment for DTI

tag
dollarsnsense
Established Member

Lenders that will use actual student loan payment for DTI

Does anyone know of any lenders that are following the newer student loan guidelines that state they can use the actual monthly payment when in a IBR plan for DTI? I have high student loan debt and have been told by 2 different lenders that they still follow the 1% of student loan balance rule to factor my student loan payment for DTI. This puts me well over the limit, but with my actual payment amount I would qualify. 

They explained to me this is because IBR has to be reapplied for each year and there is a risk that one might not qualify or have a increase in payment amount if there happened to be a jump in salary. I am a teacher... so no jumps in salary for me....😆

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
dragontears
Senior Contributor

Re: Lenders that will use actual student loan payment for DTI

@dollarsnsense wrote:

Does anyone know of any lenders that are following the newer student loan guidelines that state they can use the actual monthly payment when in a IBR plan for DTI? I have high student loan debt and have been told by 2 different lenders that they still follow the 1% of student loan balance rule to factor my student loan payment for DTI. This puts me well over the limit, but with my actual payment amount I would qualify. 

They explained to me this is because IBR has to be reapplied for each year and there is a risk that one might not qualify or have a increase in payment amount if there happened to be a jump in salary. I am a teacher... so no jumps in salary for me....😆

Which loan type are you looking at? FHA, VA, USDA, Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac? Each program has different rules on IBR, deferrment and % to use when the payment is listed as $0 on your reports. 

Message 2 of 11
dollarsnsense
Established Member

FHA. I am a first-time home buyer.