Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loan Modification questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Loan Modification questions

I lost my job due to COVID last year.  I was able to keep up with my mortgage with Wells Fargo (WF) during this time.  However, this year I asked to go into forbearance.  After three months, I told them I would start paying again - and they tacked the three months to the end of my loan.  My account manager at WF then asked if I wanted to apply for a loan modification.

I have just been approved for a loan modification (3.125% for 40 years).  Current loan at 3.625% for 15 years.

Is there anyone who would be able to let me know: what kind of impact a loan modification could have on your credit score? How long does it stay on my credit? I am not able to get a re-fi since I am now an independent contractor.  I have done the math, and with the loan modification - after the first 3 months of trial period, I can pay addl toward the principal, which I think I could end up paying off the loan modification in 15 years.  Does this affect me with future mortgage lenders if I decide to buy another home in 5 years?

Home is valued > than double the loan value, if that info is helpful.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks so much.

2 REPLIES 2
VALoanMaster
Valued Contributor

Re: Loan Modification questions

@Anonymous wrote:

I lost my job due to COVID last year.  I was able to keep up with my mortgage with Wells Fargo (WF) during this time.  However, this year I asked to go into forbearance.  After three months, I told them I would start paying again - and they tacked the three months to the end of my loan.  My account manager at WF then asked if I wanted to apply for a loan modification.

I have just been approved for a loan modification (3.125% for 40 years).  Current loan at 3.625% for 15 years.