Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mortgage Standard Questions

tag
EaglesFan2006
Established Contributor

Mortgage Standard Questions

I have been rebuilding credit for a couple of years now and I think I've done well.  I was wondering if someone can fill me in on the current basics regarding a mortgage.  Is 620 still the target score?  What other things are lenders looking at related to credit?  I'd like to pursue homebuying near the end of 2012 and want to get started on anyting I can to help my situation.

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
IOBA
Senior Contributor

Re: Mortgage Standard Questions

Some basics...

1.   Pay off debt.

2.   Use credit cards, let them report a SMALL balance, then pay off and avoid interest charges.

3.   Do NOT apply for any new credit, and this **includes** changing utility companies and changing cell phone plans.  Those buggers pull credit!

4.   Save!  Save!  Save!

5.   If you can, open a separate savings account to put regular deposits into.  Money goes in, but does not come out.  This will help with underwriting.

6.   Use mortgage calculators (use several) and get a feel for what you can afford for a mortgage.   Remember, property taxes and insurance will usually be added to any mortgage payment, unless you are putting 20% on the loan.

7.   Check out the areas you want to live in.   Find out what is available, what the average sales prices is...

8.   Figure out your happy medium.  What's going to work for you.   (For us, maximum mortgage payment would be $1200 so we know we can pay it worse case scenario unemployment income.)

9.   Figure out which loan product you want and qualify for.   FHA - 3.5% down, minimum score 620.   Conventional - 5%, 10%, 15%, or 20% down.   Do you qualify for VA, USDA?   Are you looking at a Fannie Mae home?   They offer their own financing programs (3% down).

Message 2 of 4
IOBA
Senior Contributor