Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mortgage chances

tag
CAS2019
Frequent Contributor

Mortgage chances

I am in a unique position in that my brother wants me to buy his townhome where he will gift me the equity, and all I will have to do is get a mortgage for the amount he has left on his loan (he has a first and second mortgage, no liens).  I do live in SoCal, and the amount still owed is approx $194,000.  I am new to credit and have a thin file, my oldest cc is a secured card that is six mos. old.  I have been working with a mortgage loan officer who has been giving me advice along the way.  I should mention that I’ve been building credit and not repairing.  MyFICO scores are currently showing (FICO 5, 4 & 2) EQ 703, TU 701, and EX 720.  I was recently (like 2 1/2 weeks ago) approved for Chase Freedom and Chase Amazon Prime Signature VISA and  both have a CL of $5400 each.  I also have a car loan of $5200–this loan is three mos. old.  I talked with the LO today to give her an update, and she feels I’m in a good position now as I will also be a first time homebuyer.  I was planning on applying for the mortgage in April 2019, but she is suggesting applying before the end of this year because of the interest rates rising.  Are my chances good?  I am having anxiety over this, as I know with the two new cc’s, my FICO scores will take a hit.  I should mention that I pay all CC’s in full, so The only continuous debt is the car loan.

If I took drugs I’d need a Xanax right now  worrying something will go wrong!  Thanks for any info!

Starting Score: 784
Current Score: 784
Goal Score: 800

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Club Member" border="0" width="50" height="67" align="right">

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Re: Mortgage chances

What is the significance of your own April 2019 time frame?  Are you hoping for higher scores?