Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mortgage loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Mortgage loan

I know everyone says buying a house is an emotional rollercoaster but sheesh! So long story short I made it all the way to closing disclosure but I'm told I still dont have the clear to close?? This is my first time buying a home and my landlord flat out told the UW she wouldn't provide rent verification. I've sent over my bank statements per their request because I always paid cash (lesson learned, I know my landlord and didnt think this would be an issue, shouldn't have assumed). Any who, some months I way over paid if possible and other months less and/or we did work on the house to have taken off the rent. I've received calls from the insurance companies (homeowners & flood) saying the bank requested the final paperwork but my LO is saying still no clear to close?? My closing date is supposed to be Tuesday.

Can someone help me understand please? I'm looking for piece of mind or if I need to chalk it up and start looking for another rental. TIA!
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
JVille
Valued Contributor

Re: Mortgage loan

Being able to pay your prior housing expense is a big deal. The fact that 1) your landlord refuses to verify and 2) you paid cash and in varying amounts is a HUGE red flag of “possible” inability to pay and financial instability.
Yes this is a real problem and depending on Lender Overlays or Program specific rules it can potentially cause your loan to be declined.

Do not ever pay rent in cash in the future. Always have a personal check as a paper trail in case you run into a (Jerk) oh I mean landlord who refuses to verify. Sorry you find yourself in this position and hope it works out.
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the info and yes I've learned my lesson from this and I feel like unfortunately it's going to be a big one to learn 😫.