cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My chances of getting approved

tag
risefromdebt

My chances of getting approved

Hi all I have been working on rebuiling for the past 3 years and I want to try for a mortgage around Dec. 1.   My finacial situation is as follows....

Income = 69,528   and 40,000 in savings

Debts =  Zero    credit card debt (all ballances are 0)

95,000 Student loan debt (65.00 monthly payment)

1,175   rent

574.00 car payment

66.00  IRS payment 

100.00 Credit union loan

Credit    1 collection = 190.00  from 2013

1 charge off from 2015 = 12,581  have tried to negotiate settlement with westlake via mail but no communication

5 late payments on student loan account in 2014 

1 60 day late payment in 11/2018

1 30 day late in 06/2019

mortgage Credit Scores from myfico 

The biggest issue i'm having is qualifying for the amount of mortgage I want (390,000). Academy Mortgage says becuase of my student loan and credit scores I would have to go with FHA and they require they use 1% of my loan amount. I don't want to go with FHA becuase I want to use my student loan payment of $65 to include  in my DTI.   Is the lender giving me the correct info or are there other options?  Myfico states I'm only 7 points from qualifying for a conventioal loan.  I'm not sure what to do to get those 7 points when all my credit cards are 0 balance.  The savings I have I have reserved for downpayment.  Do I even have a chance to get a mortgage or is it just wishful thinking on my part?

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
AllZero
Mega Contributor

Re: My chances of getting approved

Your'e getting the all zero penalty points. You want all zero except one card to report a small balance eg $10-$20. You should find your ~7 points next report.
Message 2 of 5
risefromdebt

Thank you!  You made my day!

Message 3 of 5
pgtackle2003
Frequent Contributor