Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help figuring out mortgage loan FICOs

tag
Suthrncomfrt1884
Valued Member

Need help figuring out mortgage loan FICOs

So I've been rebuilding my credit for the last 12 months, and I'm finally to the point where I think I can manage a mortgage loan.  But, I had a few questions.  

My FICO scores are showing EQ 716 and TU 712.  I haven't checked my EX because I've heard it's not accurate.  I believe my scores are showing a bit higher than what a mortgage lender may pull, so I'm interested in how the scores compare to the scoring models they may use.  

A little bit about my credit currently... 

Bankruptcy from 2005

1 chargeoff from 2007 will fall off in april or may of 2014

6 closed accounts (car loans and CC's)  all in good standing paid as agreed no lates.  

4 open accounts (1 car loan, 3 CC's) all in good standing never late.  Oldest account is 10 years old but is inactive.  All other accounts opened within the last 1-6 months.  

1 AU account with 23k CL, no lates, 15 years history, low UTL.

My overall UTL is 3% right now, but I can get that to 0% if it'll help.  

I'm afraid that the AU account is inflating my credit score and that a mortgage lender won't take it into consideration.  With this credit history, can anyone give me a good idea of whether or not I'll be approved for an FHA loan?  My income and time at current job are fine.  I'd like to get pre-approved now and start shopping, but if that's not possible, I can wait until my other chargeoff falls off.  

Any advice?  Thanks.  

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
tooleman694
Valued Contributor

Re: Need help figuring out mortgage loan FICOs

Your credit is way more then good enough for FHA, heck you are probably better off going conventional.

The EQ score you pull here is the same exact score the lender will pull.

The TU and EX scores will be different.