Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Home Builder Question

tag
SteveUrkel
Frequent Contributor

New Home Builder Question

Hi,

Before I begin, I want to clarify I am no expert in how the mortgage process works and thats why Im here. Smiley Happy

Im planning on getting my first home within the next couple of months. I am interested in getting a new home built. The builder I am looking at offers financing and lots.

1) What does a loan officer do and do I need one?

2) Can I deal directly with the builder? It it recommended?

3) Does an agent handle all paperwork with builder?

4) Do new homes have closing cost?

Unrelated question

4)Can I use my 401k as a down payment?

I will post more questions as they come to me.

Thanks

*22 Years Old* Started my credit at age 19
Chase Sapphire Preferred Visa Signature- $9,200 II TFCU - $2,500 II Amex BCE - $2,400 II Paypal Extras Mastercard - $7,600 II American Eagle VISA - $3300 II Best Buy Visa - $3,000 II Chase Slate - $500
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New Home Builder Question

@SteveUrkel wrote:

Hi,

Before I begin, I want to clarify I am no expert in how the mortgage process works and thats why Im here. Smiley Happy

Im planning on getting my first home within the next couple of months. I am interested in getting a new home built. The builder I am looking at offers financing and lots.

1) What does a loan officer do and do I need one? Loan officers act as the intermediary between the lending institution and the applicant, and will seek to find a loan arrangement that is in the best interests of both parties. You only need a loan officer if you plan to finance your purchase. You do not choose the LO necessarily. You choose the lending institution and from there you may be able to choose from one of the loan officers they employ.