Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New cards affect mortgage application

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New cards affect mortgage application

As a newbie, I have a question for all you savvy MyFico-ers. Last month I applied for some credit cards for DH and myself that I've had my eye on. I was thinking we would not be looking for a house/mortgage for AT LEAST 1-2 years. However, as is usually the case with my plans, things have changed and I am now anticipating to begin the mortgage application process in around 6 months.

Here are the details: before apping our scores were 740-760. Both had AAoA of 2-3 years (multiple TLs and student loans reporting so AAoA will decrease probably 3-4 months). No lates/ baddies of any kind on either report. I will have 1 new TL reporting on my account as of last month and he will have 2.

So, have I ruined us for a potential mortgage hunt this Spring??
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
thankfulheart
Established Contributor

Re: New cards affect mortgage application

I think you will be fine.  I was told not to open anything new at all once I started the process and had been about 6 months out from my last apps.  I did do a money shuffling installment loan in the middle of my application, but it was to improve my DTI and it was OK'd by the LO and UW with a letter of ex. 

I cannot WAIT to close on my house so I can app for Navy and Lowes!!!

Starting Score: 10/1/2011 EQ 568 TU 593
Current Score: EQ 664 TU 700 EX 701 (FAKO)

Message 2 of 6
webhopper
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote:
As a newbie, I have a question for all you savvy MyFico-ers. Last month I applied for some credit cards for DH and myself that I've had my eye on. I was thinking we would not be looking for a house/mortgage for AT LEAST 1-2 years. However, as is usually the case with my plans, things have changed and I am now anticipating to begin the mortgage application process in around 6 months.