Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Overwhelmed First Time Home Buyer

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Overwhelmed First Time Home Buyer

My husband and I are first time home buyers. We have new construction, which is supposed to finish mid-September. Up until now we've been working with the builder's preferred lender (Eagle Home) but over the last 2 weeks I've been researching the crap out of mortgages. Eagle Home (EH) is giving us 4.5% for a 30-year conventional fixed-rate. We are in the "jumbo" loan catgory due to the area and we are making a 20% down payment.

• Type of Loan:
    Initially we were set on 30-year. Honestly because it's what our parents recommended (don't laugh).
    But after doing all this reading (not saying I'm an expert) I don't think the 30-year conventional loan is really in line with my and my husband's goals.
  • The home we're buying is beautiful and we bought this because we REALLY wanted new construction. However, it is really far from our jobs. It's ~42 miles from my job. Both of us will have around a ~90-minute commute. We want to stay in this house for ~5-7 years and then we want to sell and move closer to our jobs.
  • So now we are warming up to doing either the 7/1 ARM or 10/1 ARM.
  • Is anyone in a 7/1 ARM or 10/1 ARM? Can you share your experience? Pros? Cons?
  • Obviously the rate is much lower for the first set years but then the max interest rate is 8.375% (based on a quote from WF)!!!!! I know we want to sell in 5-7 but I guess there is always that risk of the unknown. You just don't know what may happen or what the economy will look like in 7-10 years. What if one of us loses our jobs? And the economy goes completely downhill? I know that's just me thinking the absolute worst.

Credit Scores:

• My husband and I had pretty good credit scores.