Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please help us know if we qualify?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Please help us know if we qualify?

Hi, all.  I'm hoping the experts here can tell me if we qualify for a martgage.  Here's our situation:

In 2014, both me AND my husband were finishing teaching degrees.  I graduated in December 2014 and started teaching January 2015.  My husband graduated in April 2015 and started teaching August 2015.  In 2014, we did not work much due to student teaching.  So our total income for 2014 was about $6000 because I was only able to substitute teach occasionally when I wasn't student teaching.  We mainly lived off of savings.  We both just renewed our teaching contracts to continue teaching at the same school districts next year.  

Question #1:  Since we have not been teaching 2 years yet and our income was so low for 2014, will this hinder us even though we have signed contracts for next school year?

Also, we both have student loans.  My husband's IBR payment is $0 right now.  So, I know that 2% of his balance will be calculated as his payment, which is $840.  I'm in the process of consolidating all of my student loans and my IBR payment will be $210.  So, combined our IBR payments will be calculated as $1050.  (By the way, we file taxes seperately.)

Question #2:  Will lenders accept my IBR payment of $210 if it's what is reported on the credit report?

Our student loans are the only debt we have, so our DTI should be around 17% if we use $840 for my husband's student loan payment and $210 for mine since our gross monthly income totals $6500.

Our credit scores are all above 700 and we plan to apply for an FHA loan.

If you need additional information, let me know.

11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Please help us know if we qualify?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Message 2 of 12
GirlMelanie89
Established Contributor

Hi!!! Welcome the forums!!