Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pre approval Amount

tag
hoppermech
New Contributor

Pre approval Amount

We are getting close to being able to buy our dream home but a question has come up, the asking price for the house we like is $139,800. Obviously I'm going to negotiate and get it for less. My question is if I am get pre qualified for the full price and negotiaye the house down, lets just say to $120.000. can i borrow the the whole $139,800 and put the rest in the bank as a emergency fund or will the bank only give me what I actually paid for the house. and is it a smart idea to do this,  putting the remaining $19,800 in the bank or even borrowing it

Starting Score: EQ 518 TU 589
Current Score: EQ 571 TU 614 EXP hard pull Jan 2012 629 Beacon 5.0
Goal Score: 750

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
wwinter
Contributor

Re: Pre approval Amount

I'm not an expert on the subject but as one who closed on his first home 4 months ago I can say with a fair amount of certainty that there is no earthly way a bank will give you a mortgage for what is basically 115% (give or take a smidge) of the value of the home.  Very few banks will give you a loan with no down payment anymore.  Even fewer (none I believe) with a credit score below 640.

Even if you could borrow 115% of the home's value IMO you'd be out of your mind to do it.  Basically, you'd be stepping into a home whereupon before you even cross the threshold you are underwater on your loan.  And what if home values in your area fall another 5 or 10%?  If they fall another 5% in one year you'd be another $6000 underwater (minus whatever principal was paid down during that first year).

Message 2 of 11
ji9
Regular Contributor

No, I don't think you would be able to do that.  Good luck with the purchase, I hope you are able to get them down as much as possible.  Smiley Happy

Starting Score: 608 (TU) 612 (EQ)
Current Score: 679 (TU) 679 (EQ)
Goal: 760 on all