Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pre approval Amount

tag
Scope27
Regular Contributor

Re: Pre approval Amount

@StartingOver10 wrote:

I am a Realtor and have been in the business many, many years and closed hundreds of homes.

The reason you want a pre-approval letter to accurately reflect the amount you can afford (note, not the maximum amount, just an accurate amount) is that the seller will then do business with you in the case of multiple offers.

If you use the example above, if the list price is just under $140k and the buyer puts in his offer at $120k and his pre-approval states $120k - why would the seller even counter back?  Lets say the comparable sales in the neighborhood within the last 90 days support a valuation of $130k and the buyer shows he can only pay $120k based on his pre-approval, even though the buyer can afford the actual value, the seller is very likely to reject the offer without a counter offer. If however the buyer has a pre-approval for $132k, for example, and he makes an offer at $120k the seller will at least pay attention to the offer rather than reject it.

The buyer is the one with the money. The buyer is the one that makes the initial offer. They buyer can reject any counter offer or walk away from any price that they are not willing to pay. So, why would you want a pre-approval to accurately reflect your ability? So your offer will be accepted.

One more reason to not play the game of putting in a pre-approval too low is that if you come back with a revised pre-approval from the same lender the seller gets a really bad taste in their mouth about your honesty. It looks like what it is: playing the seller for a fool. I've seen agents not work with the buyer in such a situation as the buyer is clearly not honest and therefore none of the information provided can be trusted.