Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Preparing to buy a house

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Preparing to buy a house

Good morning!

I think this is my first ever post here, so here goes! Also, if I need to delete and repost this in another section, please let me know!

My wife and I have been renting for like 5 years and we are finally ready and able to afford a house, at least when it comes to our income. We live in the DFW area and combined, we make just over $100k before taxes.

We've both got student loans (in repayment) and we've got about $3k or so in credit card debt that we are working on paying off. We've got one auto loan that we've never been late or missed a payment on. No bankruptcy and it's been a long time since anything has been in collections. We aren't looking to buy a house until at least September of 2020, so we've got a year or so to get everything in order.

We don't have a ton of money saved up for a down payment, currently about $2,500, although we are working to create a budget and a plan to start saving more, so I'm hoping to have at least $10k as a down payment. I know that with an FHA loan, you just need 3.5% down, so that's kind of what I'm aiming for. We don't really have a price in mind for a house yet, although I'd prefer a mortgage payment that's close to our rent, which is just over $1,000 a month right now, so I'm thinking no more than $1,400 for a mortgage payment.

Our credit scores are both in the mid 600s according to Capital One CreditWise. We are thinking of signing up for MyFICO to get our FICO scores so we have better knowledge there, but here's where I come to the questions I have:

1.) How much of a house should we look at? We don't wanna bite off more than we can chew.

2.) Aside from paying off/down credit cards, is there anything we else we should do?