Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Property taxes for new purchase

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Property taxes for new purchase

Hello,

I'm a first time poster but long time reader of myFico and now I have question.

I just bought my first home in California this October and I'm not including property tax in my mortgage payment.

I recently received my property tax bill. The assessed value is just over $100k over actual purchase price. This a much bigger property tax bill then expected.

The tax collector knew to bill me because they have my billing information but the assessor’s office did not consider new purchase price of October. Why?

If I send it the total due for old assessed value, will I ever get back the "overpaid" amount? Will I ever see this money or should I just wait and be late on my property taxes?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
cobaltnv
Established Contributor

Re: Property taxes for new purchase

Welcome to the Forums. I am not an expert on property taxes, but I believe that reassessment varies by state. Some states (or counties) reassess every 5-10 years, some do so at the time of sale, some do both. My suggestion is to call your local tax collector and/or assessor's office and ask this question.
TU 810: EQ 813: EX 814 (9/16/09--Loan officer pull)

Helpful Threads
Frequently Requested Threads
Understanding your Fico Score
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

First,  I know you guys in Cali have had a rough time with your property values, however,

"""should I just wait and be late on my property taxes?"""

Absolutely NOT ...  Although I live in NC, I'm fairly certain the process to challenge (it's actually called an appeal) your property tax is the same.  I'm guessing the directions on how to appeal are included with the tax notice??

You have to pay the tax, appeal the amount and then hope like hell the county tax board will agree with you and if they do, you'll get a refund.