Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Surprise Medical Billing Collection seeking VA Mortgage

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Surprise Medical Billing Collection seeking VA Mortgage

I'm a 100 percent disabled veteran seeking a VA Mortgage though Navy Federal . My wife just received a surprise medical billing collection on all 3 credit reports. We both know that the ER service was paid in full by ChampVA Health insurance by the us government. I found out that despite ER medical services being paid in full by my insurance the doctors are billing separately two times with the collection being reported two times on her report. This billing is over year old and very questionable  aka, surprise billing.  My wife's score dropped 60 points to 657 on Experian, 674 on Equifax and 676 on Transunion. My wife has no missed payments or previous collections in the past. my scores are Experian 745, Eauifax 750, TransUnion, 745 . No collections, no past due payments ever.  our debt ratio is 21 %

The Navy Federal Mortgage loan officer said we still qualify for a VA Mortgage even with my wife's score drop, but conventional might require an addition down payment. Loan officer said VA would be the better deal for us anyway. Also said Navy Federal would like the medical collection paid  before applying. In addition stating that my wife should dispute the collections with verification and request removal with all 3 Credit Reporting Agencies .  The loan officer  brought to  my attention  the new state law (New Mexico Surprise Billing Act SB337 Effective Jan 01-2020 ) from section 14 of the Act below.. ( see last paragraph) Unlawful to use a collection agency  to collect on surprise billing  effective 01-01 2020 .

The collection was entered on the all 3 of her credit reports January 1, 2020 , the same day the Law took effect. The way the law is written it is unlawful to submit surprise medical billing to a collection  01-01-20; it is to the point there is no ambiguity.