cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tax transcripts income not matching W2s

tag
BarackOdrama

Tax transcripts income not matching W2s

I'm due to close on November 6th and my LO informed me that the gross income on my 2014 transcripts don't match my W2s. I make approximately $49,000 and my transcripts show I made $39,000, exactly $10,000 less. That's an obvious mistake and I'm hoping it won't cost me my loan. I've already been conditionally approved, it's just this hiccup that's holding me up.

Now my question is, will this stop me from getting the loan? Is it okay to amend my taxes while in the mortgage application process? My LO said it won't stop me from getting the loan but it will need to be addressed. Not sure what she meant by that. Thanks for any input.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Tax transcripts income not matching W2s

Be aware that amended taxes can take between 8-12 weeks. I am no expert, but if the W2's dont match, this could be a sign of fraud according to Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac guidelines, not saying that you are doing anything fraudulent. 

Message 2 of 8
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

@BarackOdrama wrote:

I'm due to close on November 6th and my LO informed me that the gross income on my 2014 transcripts don't match my W2s. I make approximately $49,000 and my transcripts show I made $39,000, exactly $10,000 less. That's an obvious mistake and I'm hoping it won't cost me my loan. I've already been conditionally approved, it's just this hiccup that's holding me up.

Now my question is, will this stop me from getting the loan? Is it okay to amend my taxes while in the mortgage application process? My LO said it won't stop me from getting the loan but it will need to be addressed. Not sure what she meant by that. Thanks for any input.