Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Terrified of UW

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Terrified of UW

I'm buying my fist home alone. I am employeed. Same employer and I make a little over $100k. My credit usage is 4 percent. I have two collections and student loans. I have all of my deposit and closing cost which I submitted statements for. My mortgage score is a 638. I've never done this before and I am terrified of the unknown. My lender said I have been a great client thus far. 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Terrified of UW

UW was terrifying last year when my wife and I bought our house. Worse than just standard UW our bank was adjusting policies due to COVID and our loan officer was constantly getting new information and having to adjust strategies for us to qualify for the product we needed. There were numerous hoops to jump through and it was a frustraing process. We followed the guidance of our loan officer perfectly and it worked out well for us, we needed several exceptions that I don't think we would have received had we not been so willing to work with our loan officer. So continue to be seen as a great client by your lender and things should work out for you.

I will also add, now that we are over a year out from having closed on our house, UW is temporary. While it was a frustrating and stressful period of time, it is not something I think about anymore.

Message 2 of 7
JGGM
Frequent Contributor

In my opinion, the best thing you can hear from underwriting is nothing lol. The silence is deafening, but at the same time if they're not asking for things then there's nothing out of the ordinary. I'm closing on my third house this Friday. First one scared me to death. Second one, I was scared but knew what I was getting in to. The one I'm closing on this Friday was a breeze, partially because I know and trust the process at this point.