Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thoughts on my 203k rehab loan experience

tag
DieselAmy
Valued Member

Thoughts on my 203k rehab loan experience

A 203(k) rehabilitation loan, operated through HUD, allows you to borrow more than the value of the home, to allow you to include pre-determined repairs, such that the amount loaned to you will be valued at no more than 110% of the expected appraised value of the home once the work is done. There are streamlined and full 203k loans. The difference is less paperwork for streamlined but a limit on how much repair work can be done ($35k I think, and nothing structural). I'm not an expert--I just have been going through this process for awhile.  I have a full (not streamlined) loan.

A 203k loan, or as I often call it, a rehab loan, is a LOT of paperwork. You should have a lot of patience and time. Double the time you think it will take. And triple the money you think it will cost (that's a general rule for repairs). That's my main advice. And then have MORE patience.

I've heard of people purchasing a home using 203k loans so they can borrow up front to make some repairs. I'm sure that works sometimes, but I would not advise this if you have found a home that is competitively being bid on. I think of 203k mortgages as a disadvantage (to a seller anyway) because it really delays the process of getting the mortgage closed.

My experience, in the Indianapolis area:

Not many banks offer a 203k. Not many loan officers work with these. There aren't many 203k certified inspectors (consultants). Therefore, you may spend a lot of time tracking down these people and putting up with bad service because you don't have much choice.